There may be a number of reasons you may need to deactivate an employee's profile in Tanda i.e. they have finished working for you, they may have duplicate record as their profile was imported twice, or they only work for the business during certain times of the year.
You should deactivate an employee when you no longer need to roster or export a timesheet for them. So for staff that will no longer be working for you, you should deactivate them after you have exported their final timesheet and processed the payrun in your Payroll & Accounting system.
Once you have done this, you can deactivate the employee through their profile. Go to Workforce > Staff:
Click on the relevant employee to go to their profile:
Once you're in their profile, you will see in the bottom right corner, a button to deactivate:
After you've deactivated an employee's profile you will still be able to view them within the Deactivated Staff section of Tanda. You can find this by clicking on the Tools drop-down in the Staff page:
Once in here, you will see all of your deactivated (former) staff:
When an employee is listed under Former Staff, you can still view their existing rosters and timesheets for historical records.
If you would like to reactivate a staff member simply click on their name (when you're in Former Staff) and in their profile you will see a green Restore button in the bottom left hand corner:
You will then see this employee back in the Staff page in Tanda and they will be able to clock-in and rostered again.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I permanently delete a profile rather than deactivating them?
You can't. We keep all employment related information on record to help our clients with any future audit.
I've deactivated a profile - how come they're still coming up on rosters? Can I remove them?
A common cause is when they have unhandled leave/unavailability requests before getting deactivated. Restore their profile, make sure all their future leave/unavailability requests are deleted and deactivate them again.
My deactivated staff is still syncing with MYOB - what's going on?
This is normally caused by the 'payroll id' field not being emptied. Normally you would deactivate/delete the profile in payroll after deactivating the profile in Tanda - but if you choose to leave the profile in payroll make sure you remove the payroll id from Tanda.
I'm a team manager, why can I deactivate staff but not restore them?
Team managers are not permitted to restore staff since profiles deactivated don't have any team information associated with them and allowing team managers to restore profiles can potentially cause billing issues for the entire organisation come monthly billing time since we charge based on employee count.